#24 UMary Wrestling Falls to #1 St. Cloud State

*Article and image courtesy of University of Mary Athletics

ST. CLOUD, MN – The #24 University of Mary Wrestling team had their hands full today taking on the  #1 St. Cloud State Huskies. The Huskies showed exactly why they are the nations best team, taking down UMary by a score of 35-4.

With the loss the Marauders fall to 3-2 on the season. The Huskies improve to 15-0.

#6 Tate Barnhardt posted to lone match win on the day for the Marauders in the 133 lbs weight class. The senior won his bout over Brandon Briggs by major decision 13-5. Barnhardt posted five two point take downs in his bout.

125 pounder Nate Humann put up a tough battle against #1 Brett Velasquez but narrowly fell by an 8-3 decision.

In the 141 lbs class #8 Garrett Aldrich pinned the Marauders Noah Huff at the 1:30 mark.

Max Bruss (149) battled hard against #3 James Pleski. The two needed bonus time to decide the winner. Pleski won by sudden victory 6-4.

Isaac Berger (157) fell by a 10-6 decision against #7 Jake Barzowski.

In the 165 lbs weight class Austin Eichmann fell to #9 Devin Fitzpatrick by a 10-2 major decision.

The 174 lbs weight class was a highly anticipated bout with #3 Kolton Eischens taking on #7 Phillip Springsteen. Eischens of SCSU held the advantage winning by an 18-0 technical fall at the seven minute mark.

Lance Jarrett (184) fell by a 16-4 major decision to Chance Helmick of SCSU.

In the 197 lbs weight class Gabe Anderson fell to #1 Vince Dietz by a 12-1 major decision.

Gerardo Jaime (285) lost to Noah Ryan by a 7-2 decision.

The Marauders will look to bounce back on Thursday, January 24 against in-state rivals, Minot State. The Battle for the Barrel will occur at 7 PM in Minot, ND.

125: Brett Velasquez (SCS) over Nate Humann (MARY) (Dec 8-3)
133: Tate Barnhardt (MARY) over Brandon Briggs (SCS) (MD 13-5)
141: Garrett Aldrich (SCS) over Noah Huff (MARY) (Fall 1:30)
149: James Pleski (SCS) over Max Bruss (MARY) (SV-1 6-4)
157: Jake Barzowski (SCS) over Isaac Berger (MARY) (Dec 10-6)
165: Devin Fitzpatrick (SCS) over Austin Eichmann (MARY) (MD 10-2)
174: Kolton Eischens (SCS) over Phillip Springsteen (MARY) (TF 18-0 7:00)
184: Chance Helmick (SCS) over Lance Jarrett (MARY) (MD 16-4)
197: Vince Dietz (SCS) over Gabe Anderson (MARY) (MD 12-1)
285: Noah Ryan (SCS) over Gerardo Jaime (MARY) (Dec 7-2)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s