Division II Championship Brackets Released, Mary’s Huber and Springsteen Seeded Eighth

The brackets are out for next week’s Division II National Wrestling Tournament to be held in the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls South Dakota.  The University of Mary qualified two athletes through to the NCAA’s in 157 Brayon Huber and 174 Phillip Springsteen.  Both received the #8 seed at their respective weight classes.  Springsteen, a junior All American from Graham, WA, will wrestle the winner of a pigtail bout between Martin Verhaeghe (Fort Hayes State) and Noah Curreri (Queens College).  A win would push Springsteen to the quarterfinals and a matchup with #1 Robert Gambrell of Colorado School of Mines.  Huber, a RS Freshman from Post Falls, ID, also enters the tournament seeded eighth.  Huber will wrestle unseeded Nate Smalling of McKendree in round one before potentially seeing #1 Trey Grine of Tiffin in the quarterfinals.  Also in the 157 pound bracket is Carrington native Walker Carr of Northern State.  Carr advanced to nationals by finishing third in the Super Region tournament and enters unseeded.  Carr will wrestle Tate Allison of Chadron State in a pigtail with the winner advancing to face #1 Grine.

Somewhat surprisingly, Minot State’s Dean Arevalo was not seeded in the 125 pound bracket.  Arevalo was runner-up in the Super Region V tournament to Wisconsin-Parkside’s Joe Arroyo.  Arevalo did draw into a path to the semifinals though, as he was out in the 4/5 quarter if the bracket and will first wrestle #4 Ana Abduljelil of Indy.

Screenshot 2020-03-06 at 3.36.48 PMScreenshot 2020-03-06 at 3.37.13 PMScreenshot 2020-03-06 at 3.37.32 PM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s