NDSU Crowns Four Champions at Bison Open

The Bison Open is BACK!  After a few down years, the 49th annual Bison Open felt like old times again.  The University of Minnesota, North Dakota State, and South Dakota State brought strong Division I talent, while Division II programs MSU-Moorhead, Minot State, and Mary filled the large brackets with even more strong individuals.  When it was all said and done, the Bison crowned four individual champions starting with freshman 157 Jared Franek.  Franek was behind to Minnesota’s Carson Brolsma 2-1 entering the third period before scoring two takedowns, an escape, and a rideout for a 5-4 victory.  Brolsma is currently the 23rd ranked wrestler in the country.  Andrew Fogarty continued what Franek started with a dominant 6-0 victory over Bailee O’Reilly of Minnesota.  Cordell Eaton and Brandon Metz duplicated the back to back feat provided by Franek and Fogarty with wins for the Bison at 197 and 285.  Eaton edged unattached Bison Michael Nelson in his final, while Metz defeated Blake Wolters of South Dakota State 9-2.

The University of Mary placed four wrestlers, with 165 Payton Hume scoring top honors with a third place finish.  Joining Hume on the podium were Dominic Tudor (4th 285), Chandler Mooney (6th 149), and Laken Boese (6th at 133).

Minot State’s lone placer was 285 Jake Belland.  Belland finished 4-2 on the day, losing only to champion Brandon Metz and fourth place finisher Tudor.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s