#8 Arevalo Leads Minot State into Super Region V

The Minot State Beavers are headed to the Super Region V tournament Saturday in Sioux Fall, SD Saturday, where the top three in each weight class will advance to the NCAA Division II national championships.  Evan Forde’s squad got some good news headed into the weekend, as 125 Dean Arevalo and 165 Nathan Baca were named to the 2019-20 All-NSIC wrestling team.  Arevalo, a senior from Riverside, CA, was named to the first team.  Arevalo was unbeaten in NSIC duals this season and finished the year on a ten match winning streak.  Baca was named to the second team.

Minot State will be without defending Super Region champion Jordan Will.  The 285 sustained a season ending injury in the Beavers’ dual with Mary two weeks ago.  Replacing Will in the Beaver lineup is Watford City product Jake Belland.  Belland is a senior.

Forde spoke about the upcoming Super Regional during his 2/25 press conference:


125:  Dean Arevalo (SR) Riverside, CA

133:  Oscar Nellos (JR) Carlsbad, CA

141:  Liam Hayden (SR) Lancaster, NH

149:  Shadi Mitwali (SO) Carlsbad, CA

157:  Zach Berry (SR) Federal Way, WA

165:  Nathan Baca (SO) Brighton, CO

174:  Joey Lopez (RSFR) Plantation, FL

184:  Dustin Swisher  (FR) Augusta, WV

197:  Noe Garcia  (RSJR) Gilroy, CA

285:  Jake Belland (SR) Watford City, ND


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s